34th International Test and Evaluation Symposium Proceedings (2017)

34th International Test and Evaluation Symposium Proceedings (2017)

October 2-5, 2017 ~ Hyatt Regency ~ Reston, VA



  • J. Brian Hall, PhD – Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense, Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for AT&L
  • Ms. Denise De La Cruz/Mr. Derrick Hinton – Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology and Logistics
  • Steve Hutchison, PhD – Director of T&E DHS, DHS
  • Mr. Jaime Figueroa – Deputy Director, WJ Hughes FAA Technical Center, Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)
  • Arun A. Seraphin, PhD – Professional Staff Member, Senate Arms Services Committee
  • Mr. George Rumford/Mr. Paul Mann – Principal Deputy (Acting), Test Resource Management Center (TRMC)


Acquisition & T&E Workforce  

  • Chair:  Mr. Wayne Dumais – Test Area Manager, Office of Test and Evaluation, Department of Homeland Security
  • Mr. James C. Cooke – Director, U.S. Army Evaluation Center
  • Mr. Omar Merced – Senior Electronics Engineer, FAA
  • Robin Poston, PhD – Professor and Dept Chair, Business Information & Technology, and Director Systems Testing Excellence Program – Systems Testing Excellence Program, University Memphis
  • Mr. Thomas Simms – Deputy Director, Policy and Workforce Development – DASD DT&E
  • Mr. Ken Stenfanak – DAU


  • Chair: Mr. William Redmond – Deputy, AFOTEC
  • Paul Waters, PhD – Technical Director, 412 Test Engineering Group
  • K. Mitch Crosswait, PhD – Deputy Director, Net-centric, Space and Missile Defense Systems, Office of the Secretary of Defense-Director, Operational Test and Evaluation
  • Mr. James Wells – Deputy Director, Cyberspace & Enterprise Programs, DHS Office of T&E
  • Mr. Rick Quade/Mr. Karl “Das” Glaeser – N94B, OPNAV

DoD OTA Commander’s Panel  

  • Chair:  Laura Freeman, PhD – Assistant Director, Operational Evaluation Division – Institute for Defense Analyses
  • RADM Paul Sohl – Commander, Operational Test & Evaluation Force (COMOPTEVFOR)
  • MG John W. Charlton – Commanding General, U.S. Army Test and Evaluation Command (ATEC)
  • Maj. Gen. Matthew H. Molloy – Commander, Air Force Operational Test and Evaluation Center (AFOTEC)
  • COL Mark T. Brinkman – Director, Marine Corps Operational Test and Evaluation (MCOTEA)

Modeling and Simulation   

Space Panel  

Test Range Panel  

  • Chair: Ms. Leslie Taylor – Naval Air Warfare Center Aircraft Division / Deputy Assistant Commander for Test and Evaluation, Naval Air Warfare Center Aircraft Division (NAWCAD)
  • Brigadier General Eric L. Sanchez – Commander, White Sands Missile Range (WSMR)
  • Brig. Gen. Carl E. Schaefer – Commander, 412th Test Wing, Edwards Air Force Base
  • Gp Capt Keith F. Joiner, PhD – Australian Department of Defence
  • Mr. Eric Spigel – Ranges, Engineering and Analysis Department Head, NUWC Division Newport
  • Mr. Christopher Smith – Director, Transportation Security Laboratory, DHS



Acquisition Reform in Today’s T&E Environment

Autonomous Systems Test & Evaluation

Big Data Analytics for T&E   

Cyber Testing Systems of Systems 

International Partnering in T&E  

Modeling and Simulation for T&E  

Software Test Systems and Best Practices for T&E 

T&E/S&T Innovations and Emerging Threats