Publications Award

Publications Award


The Publication Award recognizes outstanding contributions to T&E literature.  ITEA presents this award to honor individuals whose published books or technical papers have improved and increased the general body of knowledge relevant to better understanding and development of T&E technology. The literary works considered may be broad in scope or may address a single functional area that is included under the T&E umbrella.


The Publications Award may be awarded to any author or authors whose literary work is of high quality and addresses test and evaluation topics. Membership in ITEA is not required; however, the literary works for which the author is nominated should complement ITEA’s goals. Co-authors are eligible for joint recognition. Teams, organizations, or institutions are not eligible. The following prerequisites also apply:

  • Published work must be original and must adhere to the accepted practices of scholarly research methods. Proper credits must be given where material is drawn from other sources; the conclusions are to be suitably justified, and statements of opinion are to be identified as such.
  • An author can only receive this award one time for the same publication.
  • Only published works available to the public will be considered.

Evaluation Criteria

  1. Published works will generally be ranked according to the following hierarchy:
    • Books by a single author.
    • Books by co-authors.
    • Books by an editor.
    • Monograph series.
    • Monograph.
    • Refereed article in a published journal.
    • Tutorial text.
    • Television script, where authorship is specified.
  2. Relative impact of the published work in terms of its influence in the T&E field.
  3. The degree to which the author drew upon approved research methods in the justification of any conclusions.
  4. The organization of the published material, editorial style, and conciseness of presentation.

Past Recipients

1990Emil J. Eichblatt and Jacques S. Gansler, PhD
1991John L. Miles and John K. Hawley
1992Gerald R. Holiday
1993Robin M. Brandin
1994James F. O’ Bryon
1995Stuart H. Starr, PhD
1996MAJ William J. Norton, USAF
1997Matthew T. Reynolds
1998Suzanne M. Beers, PhD and George J. Vachtsevanos
1999MAJ James H. Baker, USAF
2000MAJ Kelly S. Lauritzen, USA
2001Tommie W. Curtis
2002Randon R. Herrin, Neil L. Barrett, Bryon G. Baker and Robert A. Koyak
2003Brian J. Riley
2004Jeffrey Peterson, PhD, Hal Meyer, Dennis L. Jones and Michael J. O’Connor
2005Lydia Bock, PhD, Dr. Yehuda Bock, Jeffrey Fayman, Ph.D., Thomas J. Macdonald and John H. Merts
2006 – Daniel S. Skelley and Raymond Faulstich
2007 – John A. Stine, PhD

2008Dennis L. Boesen
2009Robert C. Michelson
2010Rick Dove
2011Tim Owen, Rob Scott, Roy and Campbell, PhD
2012Bernard “Chip” Ferguson, Dr.Michael Lilienthal, Christopher Yglesias, David Brown, and Natalie Apuzzo
2013Darlene Mosser-Kerner, Rick S. Thomas, Suzanne Beers, PhD
2014Michael Badger, Dennis Bushmitch, PhD, Mr. Rick Cozby, John Harwig, PhD, and Mr. Brian Hobson
2015Edward Kraft, PhD and Lieutenant David Stebbins
2016Richard A. Kass, PhD
2017Paola Pringle, Hank Steinfeld, Patrick Lardieri, Michael Lilienthal, and David Brown
2018 – Michael Barton, PhD, and Venkat Dasari, PhD
2019 – Laura Freeman, PhD, Kelly Avery, PhD, and Thomas Johnson, PhD
2020 – Ya Lun Li, PhD
2021 – CDR Donald “Bucket” Costello, USN
2022 – Aaron Hendrickson